The First Shot

Fujifilm X-E1 & Fuji XF 35mm f1.4 R (ISO 200, f1.4, 1/4000 sec)

This was my first shot with the much talked about Fuji X system. After reading a lot of good things about it, I was really curious to see for myself what all the fuss was about. I already own a Canon EOS 5D Mark II and a couple of L lenses, so I couldn’t afford to get the latest X gear. After doing my research, I thought I’d dip my toes in the X waters by getting an older body and a lens to go with it. I don’t own a prime lens for my Mark II, and was seriously considering the new Sigma 50mm f1.4 Art which runs about $1000 here in Australia. Since I was willing to spend that on a lens alone, I decided to allocate those funds towards the Fuji system.

Looking around on Gumtree I saw a few X-E1 bodies in near new condition, with a few months of warranty left go for around $400, which I thought was an absolute steal. I looked around a bit more and found ‘the one’. The seller had bought the X-E1 as a kit for the 18-55 lens and had the body for sale. After a few emails back and forth, I managed to get the price down to $350. With half of the work done, the next step was to look for a lens. Since I was looking to get the 50mm lens for my Mark II, I thought I’d look around for the 35mm f1.4 which I have read nothing less than stellar reviews about. I was gutted to miss out on a deal for a used lens for $320 by just a few hours. In the end, I picked up a near new lens, with 6 months of warranty left for $420, which was at the higher end of what I was prepared to pay for it. No fuss, my system was now complete. I couldn’t wait to go out and shoot.

The above shot was my first with the X system. It’s not a great shot, I think it would have made a much better photograph if the lady and her child were not in the picture as your eyes keep going back and forth between them. But it’s not a bad start. I’ll save my thoughts on the X system for another post.

Leave a Reply

